Testimony Tuesday

Tara shared her evolving story before on the blog back in October.  She reached out again to us to share her the follow up on her story and we applaud her for the courage and vulnerability to share so openly with you all today. Go back and read what she wrote then and how far she’s come to now. Leave a comment to reach her about her testimony.

As I have continued to talk with my father and build a stronger relationship, I have learned so many things about him. The most important thing is that he has really reinforced that he loved my sisters and I and never wanted to be apart from us. He tells me how difficult [our separation] was. I truly believe that he is telling the truth because I can feel his love even when we are apart. He takes the time to talk to me about everything, answering whatever questions I ask him.

As I grow and mature in my own life, my understanding of life becomes clearer. I have gained understanding through digging through my own emotional garbage. Peeling away layers of hurt, grief, lies, and disappointments that I have allowed on my back. I even wonder sometimes, did Daddy break my heart… or Mommy? I know she thought she was doing the best for us at that time but in the long run, I was hurt.

I recently just found out that my dad has cancer, which runs very strongly on that side of the family. When He told me I was shocked, hurt and the though of the big “C” word was in my face and I was scared. I quickly prioritized some things and made some clear decisions. What was done in the past, the things that should have been done, who said what and did not say this or that was no longer important. I love him and all those things from before will not have a place in my life. The time in my life is NOW! THIS MOMENT AND THE FUTURE WITH HIM IS NOW!!!

I love my daddy. Through God’s Grace, love, and Word, I have been recreated with His love and His powerful ability to forgive. I have learned to love people where they are in this long journey of life. Mothers, when you have children, please be selfless. Remember, he is the man you chose to father your children. Do not deny them the right to have a relationship with their father if it is within your power to connect them. Regardless of who may be at fault, I love both my parents and I forgive them both. If either of them left this world today never to return again I want to have peace in my heart by forgiving them both.

Thank you, DBMH Project, for allowing me to let go and heal through your blog. I’m also hoping to help others heal. God Bless!!

Screen Shot 2013-05-07 at 12.26.37 AM

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Leave a Reply

