Music Monday – Hurt by Christina Aguilera

While I work on revisions to the DBMH project book, I’m reposting entries that are great for measuring mental/emotional progress through reactions the first time and then this time around. If this is your first time seeing these, I hope they challenge you in ways you haven’t considered before.

With love,
Keila

Daddy Broke My Heart

This week’s song is by Christina Aguilera: Hurt.

The first time I heard this song, I did not understand the dynamics she spoke of. Why did she care about if he was proud of her or not?

Why was she so broken once he was off the scene?

Perhaps the unspoken words that were never exchanged affected this relationship more than she knew until it was too late. One day I heard this song and decided to tell my dad how I felt. Expressing myself made a difference for me… even if it never changes the hurt he continues to inflict on me.

Enjoy the song:

Seems like it was yesterday when I saw your face
You told me how proud you were but I walked away
If only I knew what I know today

I would hold you in my arms
I would take the pain away
Thank you…

View original post 211 more words

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Leave a Reply

