No Expectations

So if unconditional love expects nothing in return… what does that look like?

Take mother’s love as an example. Any good mother will feed, care for, clean, and protect their child regardless of the kid’s temperament. Sure, it’s easier to care for a laid back, calm child. But a screaming, constantly dissatisfied child will still endlessly receive love and care.

Enter a deadbeat dad.

Loving a dad who is not around can be hard to fathom, but the key is showing him care and concern during the times you can. His birthday. His random visits (if ever). Holidays.

Many times, men are afraid of rejection. Men are terrified of being a failure. Men can also be in denial about their responsibilities. Definitely a dead beat dad.

When you show love and affection, you open a door for honest vulnerability in that your dad cannot use the excuse that your life is better without him. This is by no means true. The presence of a father empowers and energizes his children. Yes, the ideal situation includes involvement. However, contact can spark the potential only a dad can activate.

So, take a stab at loving without expectations. Surprise him no matter how unworthy he is. You never know what’s going on in his head… make it nothing but positive energy coming from you.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

2 responses to “No Expectations”

  1. Keila Harris says :

    Reblogged this on Daddy Broke My Heart and commented:

    In light of this past weekend’s events, I feel it is extremely relevant to repost it. My dad promised to come to my graduation. I actually believed that he would come. I had no reason to doubt he would, I mean… He came to my undergrad ceremony. He even mentioned that he would because of the fact that as my dad, he HAD to be there. Yet, the day came and he did not. But you know what’s absolutely wonderful about loving without expectations? When I discovered he’d left the promised cash in a card with my brother the day before, I realized two things.

    1. That I was not upset that he didn’t call to tell me he knew he’d miss ahead of time…for whatever reason.
    2. He did care enough to deliver on half his promise.
    Something is better than nothing. I’m grateful and blessed to be free of the hurt that comes with bitterness. I’m free of disappointment beyond wishing I had a good picture with him. I’m free.

    No expectations. Best way to live. You can hope without assuming any obligation on anyone. That’s love.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Love Inspires | Daddy Broke My Heart - March 21, 2013

Leave a Reply

