Power and Demise of Connection

Electricity gives us power. Electricity is also a dangerous current if misconnected. Something meant for good can come as a deadly shock! Being connected to people is like electricity. Good connections give you power. Bad connections… ZAP!

My dad has someone he wants me to meet. He’s been trying to track me down to give me this person’s information and make it happen. “You all will hit it off!” he says, and I suck in my breath… resisting.

I stopped and asked myself, Why?

Here’s the reason: being connected to him makes me feel like I will be pre-judged through who he is. After all, that’s the power of a great referral… immediate access to blessings and accolades without knowing the person yet. Meeting someone I do not know through my dad just makes me nervous. I have to enter the situation on the defense because all I can think of is getting across the fact that I’m not anything like him. I am reliable. I am honest. I accept responsibility. I keep my word.

Am I wrong for assuming that this person I will meet will think the worst?

I see it as simply cautious.

There is power and demise in being connected to certain people.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Leave a Reply

