Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. – Remarkable Leader and Father

This Monday I’d like to pause and reflect on Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and his remarkable example in leadership. He led millions and he never neglected the most important stage in his life: the home. Dr. MLK Jr. sets a precedent for men as fathers. You do not have to scour the internet for family pictures of Dr. MLK Jr., he has many pictures with his family. He loved his family dearly and each of them knows this. His early death leaves us with many curiosities as to what else he might have done to move our nation. He knew the importance of being present with his family, otherwise we would not see him swinging with his children or playing with hula hoops in the living room!

dr-martin-luther-king-jr-and-children-on-swingBWDrMartinLutherKingJrandhi

Oh to be the child of a strong male leader who shows his love to his own! The King children have the legacy he left behind to pass along to their children, and their children’s children, and their children’s grandchildren. I understand that Dr. MLK Jr. is an anomaly of a man. But I also know every father is given the chance to be a hero in his child’s life. Truth be told, what the world thinks of you doesn’t matter even half as much as how your children think of you! Your children are the only people who will pass along the essence of who you are. As a father, you choose if it will be more than merely genetic material. Give them stories of love, care, laughter, quality time, and compassion. Give them a reason to smile when they think of you. Give them a hope that lives beyond your own lifespan. Give them a reason to celebrate your life even after your passing!

As the daughter of a man who doesn’t get it, I choose to celebrate and honor the men that do. Thank you to every man who has invested in my life enough to make a change. Thank you for your sacrifices that have given me opportunities to soar far beyond where I would have flown from my own motivation. Thank you to my spiritual fathers. Thank you to my adopted fathers. Thank you for doing what you do… and showing me that there are still great men like MLK Jr. alive and making differences in your own worlds that have collided with mine. I honor you today.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

2 responses to “Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. – Remarkable Leader and Father”

    • milbwords says :

      This is so well said! The great men who specialize in being good Fathers first, are touching the world in ways that can not be measured. They’re inspiration spreads from their living room into to the hearts of those looking on. MLK did this in his mere 39 years, I wonder what he would have done had he been blessed with 39 more years. Thank God for the men who invested in my children and me by default, so often not even knowing they were contributing to our well being!

Leave a Reply

