When Forgiving Feels Like Losing

During my commute from my apartment to work, this song popped on my Pandora Station. I immediately identified with the message and knew that this weeks song would be Losing from the new album The Struggle by Tenth Avenue North. I’ve inserted my comments and italicized them next tot he lyrics in the song because I really want you to read and ponder over these very powerful words…

I can’t believe what she said

I can’t believe what he did
Oh, don’t they know it’s wrong, yeah?
Don’t they know it’s wrong, yeah?
Maybe there’s something I missed
But how could they treat me like this?
It’s wearing out my heart
The way they disregard

This is love, this is hate…
We all have a choice to make

Oh, Father won’t You forgive them?
They don’t know what they’ve been doin’ (oh no)
Oh, Father, give me grace to forgive them
‘Cause I feel like the one losin’ >>>> This is the issue. This is where a lot of people choose to skip the most important step of feeling betrayed, disregarded, and mishandled. Instead of choosing to let go and let God handle it, they internalize the hurt and give way to bitterness. It’s okay to be honest and let God know you feel like you have the short end of the stick, but do not forget that forgiving is for YOU, not for them. Keep yourself free of malice. People are not worth your peace.

Well it’s only the dead that can live
But still I wrestle with this
To lose the pain that’s mine
Seventy times seven times
‘Cause Lord it doesn’t feel right >>>> You want justice. You want to know that God really understands that these people do not deserve a “pass” on how they’re treating you!
For me to turn a blind eye
Though I guess it’s not that much
When I think of what You’ve done. >>> But we have to stop and consider what Christ went through for us, for that person, and realize that whatever we have to ignore and let go will never amount to what Christ had to do. Never.

This is love, this is hate…
We’ve got a choice to make

Oh, Father won’t You forgive them?
They don’t know what they’ve been doin’ (oh no)
Oh, Father, give me grace to forgive them
‘Cause I feel like the one losin’

Oh, no!

Why do we think that hate’s gonna change their heart?
We’re up in arms over wars that don’t need to be fought
But pride won’t let us lay our weapons on the ground >>> stop fighting.
We build our bridges up but just to burn them down
We think pain is owed apologies and then it’ll stop
But truth be told it doesn’t matter if they’re sorry or not
Freedom comes when we surrender to the sound
Of mercy and Your grace, Father, send Your angels down

[x2]
Oh, Father won’t you forgive them?
They don’t know what they’ve been doin’ (oh no)
Oh, Father, give me grace to forgive them >>> We have to ask God for the strength to forgive because it will not come naturally. Ask and it shall be given. 
‘Cause I feel like the one losin’
Yeah, I feel like I’ve been losing

Oh, Father, give me grace to forgive them
‘Cause I feel like the one losin’
I feel like I’ve been losin’

Oh, Father, give me grace to forgive them
‘Cause I feel like the one losin’

Uncharted waters of Forgiveness

Sometimes we find comfort in the emotions we are familiar with. The state of forgiveness for big things can be uncharted waters for most people. Do not let the fear of the unknown hold you back from doing what you know is the right thing to do. You might feel like you’re losing, but you’re not. To forgive is to win the favor of the Most High God, Savior King, The Lord… and that’s all that matters.

You can watch the music video by the artists here:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Leave a Reply

