Props to My Mother

My dad didn’t show up this past Monday. He called 5 minutes after he was supposed to arrive to let us know he was not coming.

“I don’t know why I bother…” I said as I abruptly hung up the phone, frustrated.

My mother gracefully said, “Because it is the right thing to do. I believed he’d come too this time… I’m sorry.”

We girls just decided to have a pizza party at home with my mom. As we were leaving, I told my sister Leila, “I do not ever want to look any of my children in the face and have to say ‘I believed he’d come too’… know why? It’s too much!”

As we drove to the pizza place, I realized that the courage and strength I couldn’t imagine having is my mother’s everyday existence since she separated from my father. My mother has courageously endured countless hardships, injustice, defamation, trickery, and betrayal, and yet she remains whole to support and love us. She lends hope to increase our faith in the pointless cause of my dad ever changing. Why? Because she loves us. Because she’s awesome! Because she’s the strongest woman I know!

Mom, I do not take your grace, love, compassion, patience, support, and beautiful spirit for granted! Though we do not say it as much as we should, on behalf of all my siblings and their descendants, THANK YOU! Our dad may be a failure, but you are the standard of what every mother should shoot for!

God bless you!

Image

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

5 responses to “Props to My Mother”

  1. tara read says :

    Bravo!!! As mother’s we love our children and there is nothing we would not do for them. We would go to the ends of the earth, give our lives to see our children happy. As mother’s we make so many sacrifices so that our children can have all the things they need and want. This love, appreciation, and gratitiude that you show is OUTSTANDING!!!. It shows how mature and grateful you are and God is smiling on you and Blessing You! I say fabulous Kelia. Many Blessing to your mom.

  2. Jerry Rodgers says :

    Your Mom certainly deserves your love and accolades, but don’t give up on your Dad. He has fallen far short of the mark as a father, but while there’s life there’s hope. And you are the best, and maybe the last hope he has to turn his life around.

  3. Daniella says :

    Tears: I’m so glad to know your mother, too!

Leave a Reply

