New Year, New Attitude!

My father called me on New Year’s Eve to wish me a happy new year. Being in the process of revising my completed book brings so many thoughts to my mind as I listen to him give an account of his whereabouts for the past 6 months. My heart squeezed for him as I listened to him explain himself and admit that he had no excuses. Even still, he had to air the excuses because he felt bad for being out of touch.

Something different than anytime before revealed itself within me talking to him. Happiness. I smiled and listened intently to the words he was saying, even though my mended heart knows to be careful. I know I can not to expect anything stated in good intention because time plays her cards and he comes up short. Nevertheless, my heart raced as I told him I had finished grad school. I could almost see the shock on his face as I explained the plans I have before me. He began to respond as someone who cared. He asked questions. He listened. It would seem I have to have something dramatic going on in my life for him to be interested. He has always been partial to a good story!

He began to make lofty suggestions and offers and I thanked him for the thought. We planned a date for next Monday to celebrate and catch up. As we ended the conversation I squeezed in a reminder to him. “Dad, I appreciate the effort. I love you. Even if you can’t deliver all you want to do, just know I appreciate you.” I could hear the hesitant relief in his voice as he said, “Key, I love you too. See you soon!”

I do not know what this new year will bring for us, but I do know that I have a new hope and new heart of love to offer my dad. Forgiving him has completely changed my perspective. This new perspective gives me the chance to give him as many chances as he needs without being hurt.

Make this new year all you can by being positive and having a little faith!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

2 responses to “New Year, New Attitude!”

  1. Jerry Rodgers says :

    So God has already begun to fulfill those great expectations you have for the new year! How wonderful!

Leave a Reply

