Music Monday: “Please Daddy (Don’t Get Drunk This Christmas)”

John Denver performed this song and it appeared on three of his different albums. This song is twangy and super country, but goes to show that there are countless children crossing their fingers in hopes that alcohol won’t ruin another holiday of family merriment.

This Christmas, I challenge any adults who know people with children who tend to be depressed, bottle heavy, and negative during the Christmas season to step up and hold that person accountable for their selfish actions. Let them know that their choices affect their kids more than they know. Encourage them to do their best to make the holiday happy for the kids, even if that means missing it altogether. In my opinion, no memories are much better than bad memories.

Don’t stand by and watch a child suffer, do what you can to redeem their holiday with loads of kindness and care. Presents, money, and treats are not what kids remember most about Christmas holidays. Children remember the time you spend with them!

Lyrics:

Please Daddy, dont get drunk this Christmas
I dont wanna see my Mumma cry
Please Daddy, dont get drunk this Christmas
I dont wanna see my Mumma cry

Just last year when I was only seven
And now I’m almost eight as you can see
You came home at a quarter past eleven
Fell down underneath our Christmas tree

Please Daddy, dont get drunk this Christmas
I dont wanna see my Mumma cry
Please Daddy, dont get drunk this Christmas
I dont wanna see my Mumma cry

Mumma smiled and looked outside the window
She told me son, you better go upstairs
Then you laughed and hollered Merry Christmas
I turned around and saw my Mummas tears

Please Daddy, dont get drunk this Christmas
I dont wanna see my Mumma cry
Please Daddy, dont get drunk this Christmas
I dont wanna see my Mumma cry
No, I dont wanna see my Mumma cry

Words and music by Bill Danoff and Taffy Nivert

What would you suggest to a child begging their dad not to get drunk this Christmas holiday?

S/N: If you have a memory of someone who redeemed what could have been a negative Christmas experience, please add it below!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Leave a Reply

