Who Cried Watching Footloose? Not Just Me, Right?

After somewhat of a dreary day, with the weather and unchangeable circumstances, I returned home after releasing a bit of steam at the gym. My mind raced and the thought of boxing made me think that perhaps I hadn’t worked out enough at the gym.

Anxious to accomplish something I care about, I began slaving away on search engines and LinkedIn, looking for some missing pieces to fill the puzzle life has become for me these days. Enough. I can hear a small part of my brain that chimes in during times of distress. Keila, enough. Take some time for you! You’ve graduated and you have yet to really celebrate because you’ve been slaving away to finish the Memoir. Now the memoir is done and you’re beating yourself up for not being productive on a work day? Enough!

I sit stunned at the realization that I haven’t allowed myself anytime to relax. I decided to watch Footloose. What better way to indulge myself for the rest of the evening and forget about my to-do list? I’ll admit, the movie began as a 3×3 inch square in the corner of my computer screen as I continued to try and do research. Who are you fooling? Might as well enjoy one thing fully instead of split my attention and get no where anyway.

No one warned me that this movie had daddy-daughter dynamics!!! *sigh* I watch the tragic, but heartwarming story unfold before my eyes and I begin to cry. As the tears fall down my face, I recognize the words they whisper against my skin. I tune in and feel the emotions of loss and longing and I prayerfully stable myself. For years I would silently cry during movies without the slightest coherent idea as to why. But tonight is different. Tonight my tears fall and I’m happy for the girl on the screen. Yes, there’s a bit of jealousy and curiosity.

There’s the rebel girl with two loving parents that she defies to express her grief and independence. She goes from man to man in the film, trying to feel better, and learns from the new guy that she won’t find worth in a “kiss and tussle.” When she gets in trouble with the first no good guy she’s with, her dad blames the good one. At this point she’s yelling at him all the things she’s been feeling for years that cut him so deep that he lights into her. All of this negative energy is flowing between them revealing miscommunication and pain.

Anyway, the good guy she’s talking to talks to her dad and works through bad impressions to win the father’s favor. Now the dad and daughter have the stage to talk to one another about their fight and how they feel…. and I’m looking for Kleenex.

I ask myself, What would it have been like to have a dad care so much about me that I would be frustrated at his over-protectiveness?

My heart is quick to jump in and remind me that God has held me to a standard of chastity that can definitely be frustrating and I can’t help but smile. This is so true. The difference is that the protective commands from God are perfect. I can trust that I am getting the best results possible trusting Him to provide for me. I can rejoice in that.

I imagined tonight would be a bit more footloose, but I guess there’s a valuable lesson in everything. Be thankful for what you have and make the best of it!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

2 responses to “Who Cried Watching Footloose? Not Just Me, Right?”

  1. milbwords says :

    Sounds like lessons are learned even in our relaxed time…it pays to obey that little still voice, look at what would have been missed.

    • Keila Harris says :

      True! I’m very thankful. Being healed doesn’t remove the painful lack of good memories, but it takes away that deep hurt that can feel consuming at times. That’s a wonderful victory!

Leave a Reply

