Music Monday: Family Portrait

P!nk has a tendency to talk about the things people avoid. Watching the video almost brought tears to my eyes… there’s the child inside all of us that is deathly afraid of repeating the mistakes of our parents. That voice in our head that says, “That won’t be me, I won’t do it…”

Please address all the things that hurt you coming up. If you can imagine talking to that little girl or boy (yourself), face to face, acknowledge the pain and resentment and denounce the fear. Do not be held back in your relationships by fear. You are not your parents. You are not incapable of choosing your own pathway.

Remember, however, that if you run away from it, it will always come back and find you. Face it. Whatever your “it” is, and end the hide-and-seek game today.

No one had the perfect childhood. No need to pretend that you went unaffected. Get to the bottom of the hurt and quit pretending! Pretense is infectious and gives a false sense of security that can be striped away without warning.

Give yourself a chance to heal.

Support the DBMH Project, Inc. by contributing to our Kickstarter Fundraiser!

Visit the DBMH Project, Inc website for more information.

Momma please stop cryin, I can’t stand the sound
Your pain is painful and its tearin’ me down
I hear glasses breakin as I sit up in my bed
I told dad you didn’t mean those nasty things you
said

You fight about money, bout me and my brother
And this I come home to, this is my shelter
It ain’t easy growin up in World War III
Never knowin what love could be, you’ll see
I don’t want love to destroy me like it has done
my family

Chorus:

Can we work it out? Can we be a family?
I promise I’ll be better, Mommy I’ll do anything
Can we work it out? Can we be a family?
I promise I’ll be better, Daddy please don’t
leave

Daddy please stop yellin, I can’t stand the sound

Make mama stop cryin, cuz I need you around
My mama she loves you, no matter what she says
its true
I know that she hurts you, but remember I love
you, too

I ran away today, ran from the noise, ran away
Don’t wanna go back to that place, but don’t have
no choice, no way
It ain’t easy growin up in World War III
Never knowin what love could be, well I’ve seen
I don’t want love to destroy me like it did my
family

Chorus

In our family portrait, we look pretty happy
Let’s play pretend, let’s act like it comes
naturally
I don’t wanna have to split the holidays
I don’t want two addresses
I don’t want a step-brother anyways
And I don’t want my mom to have to change her
last name

In our family portrait we look pretty happy
We look pretty normal, let’s go back to that
In our family portrait we look pretty happy
Let’s play pretend, act like it goes naturally

Chorus

Daddy don’t leave
Daddy don’t leave
Daddy don’t leave
Turn around please
Remember that the night you left you took my
shining star?
Daddy don’t leave
Daddy don’t leave
Daddy don’t leave
Don’t leave us here alone

Mom will be nicer
I’ll be so much better, I’ll tell my brother
Oh, I won’t spill the milk at dinner
I’ll be so much better, I’ll do everything right
I’ll be your little girl forever
I’ll go to sleep at night

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

6 responses to “Music Monday: Family Portrait”

  1. Jerry Rodgers says :

    This is heart rending. May God have mercy on us all.

    • Jerry Rodgers says :

      Nov. 19 was my father’s birthday. My father and mother never got along either, although he did not leave the family until all five of us children were grown. I was about 30 yrs old but it still affected me deeply.

  2. milbwords says :

    These songs are a cry for help…I pray I never forget the hurts of my childhood so I can understand the dynamics related to the emotional pain people are suffering…we shouldn’t wallow in the pain, but we must face it to move on. I am glad I know the joy of moving on.

    • Keila Harris says :

      True. My heart hurts for those who are hurting and do not begin to know how to move on. Time does not heal all wounds. Many times, action is vital in the healing process. Simply waiting creates stagnation.

  3. ajourneythroughmyeyes says :

    Reblogged this on A Journey through my thoughts and commented:
    Totally agree

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Family portrait | A Journey through my thoughts - June 19, 2013

Leave a Reply

