Soda Pop Emoplosion

soda pop exploding like emotions
No matter how hard I try to avoid shaking and causing an Emoplosion, every once in a while, my can explodes and leaves me frantic and confuddled, grasping whatever Kleenex or paper towel in reach to dry my face. This time, I feel awkward and embarrassed in my trying to keep it hidden. I am NOT an over-emotional woman. But this is different. I feel helpless, man-handled, and even victimized.
.
I try talking it over with someone disconnected from the situation that set off the response. With every word the can is shaking. This situation is far from the first to rattle me enough to shake my can. The pressure became more than I can bare. I find a quiet place to regroup, but the opposite overtakes me.
.
Why do I feel this way?
Attacked, scared, alone, misunderstood… and sadly enough, overdramatic. But no matter how hard I try to stop the gush of my emotional soda pop can, it sprays relentlessly.
.
I pray to receive help. I know I must acknowledge it in as specific terms as possible.
“Lord, I need your strength because I am weak. Give me courage, cuz I am afraid and I do not know why…this feeling of helplessness is causing me to panic and feel confused–and You, Lord, are not in confusion. Clear my mind…show me where I can be more humble. Help me understand what’s happening to me!” – Simply being a woman is not the only reason I am braking down. The inexplicable rush of emotions in these situations always have an explanation.
Thankfully, God gave me an answer beyond my gender and emotional tendencies. The emosoda pop I carry is shook around when I bristle against the difference between reality and my expectations. My perception of situations also comes into play. I feel violated due to something that is yet to be proven. My can explodes because Pride tells me I have a right to be furious. No one should make you feel helpless. Pride tells me the reason I hate it so much: my dad did it to me first. Somehow, I feel I have to prove to the world, whoever it may be, that I’m strong enough to fight back. But what good is a fight against the end goal you pursue? Would I let Pride hinder me from arriving at my goals because of feelings if pressure and anxiety from external forces that may or may not have valid reason?
.
After much thought and reflection, I confronted the situation face to face with the person. I left my emocan outside… I came to listen. I realized how polarized our perspectives were and how dangerous my original reaction was to myself. My emoplosion shows me that I have to release all the bubbles of anger and confused emotion to pin point the real issue. Suppressing the feelings only causes more stir. By doing that, I can name the problem and address it. I am able to discuss what I perceive to be a problem without being defensive. Yes, some people will attack you. But everyone is not against you. I have learned a few things through this experience which applies to anyone, anywhere dealing with conflict:
  • Do not be so quick to assume the worst.
  • Get as much outside (and objective) perspective as possible. – Talk it out before confronting anything.
  • Listen and get all the facts
.
Keep your emosoda pop still. Be chill. No need to get shook up over what honestly is 90% of the time, a misunderstanding.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

2 responses to “Soda Pop Emoplosion”

  1. Jerry Rodgers says :

    Very good advice. Keep those emoplosions under control. You can do all things thru Christ.

  2. Keila Harris says :

    Thanks! I am thankful for the wisdom that God can give in the moment we ask Him for it!

Leave a Reply

