Magnify the Good

I’m willing to take on the challenge presented by my co-blogger, Caleb, in his last post, “The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly… but where is the good?” –  The negative elements are so easy to see for obvious reasons: they rub us the wrong way. I for one do not like to be mishandled, let down, or taken for granted. When it happens, I have had the tendency to build walls to protect myself against people who breech this trust. My dad has been one of those people.

I sensed the tension between my parents when I was very young. Unfortunately, as a result, I closed myself off to a lot of the good my dad brought to the table because of my disappointment in him. However, in more recent years, I have broken down those walls and I can’t help but shake my head and laugh at the things he does. My dad is hilarious! He takes himself so seriously. He will guffaw in a restaurant where people are being quiet. He will get out of his seat and reenact a story from work or elsewhere to deliver the full effect of the story. My dad will talk to strangers like their his friends. He refers to past servers who have waited on him as his friend. If he sees a bum more than once in the city… that’s his “buddy that couldn’t catch a break.” Seriously? Hot mess. So funny. I love it!

Sometimes his jokes aren’t all that funny to other people, but I have made a habit out of laughing at his outlandish enthusiasm. My sister will cut her eyes at me to see if I’m seriously enjoying the embarrassing rendition of whatever while I’m focused on fueling him with giggling energy. He gets even more intense with an audience. Haha, I’m the same way. I love it when people are right there with me, even if I’m acting stupid. Sometimes you have to soak in the awesome feeling of the moment. Ride the wave of laughter into the next moment of tears and smiles. That’s hoe good memories are born. Silly memories with no event attached. Just awesome feelings.

I know I wrote a post titled, “Not Everything is Funny” What’s interesting is that I was focused on the empty part of the glass of my situation. Yes, my dad has more flaws than I can count. But, he is not all bad. I mean, I am a by-product of his existence, so clearly, there is good and a lot of potential for more wrapped up in my dad. I thank God for him. Even though he is a complete failure as a father, he will always be my dad. I can choose to make the most of what we have or disdain it. I’d rather get creative. I’d rather magnify what good there is and hope that in time, maybe he can be reborn and adopt a new perspective. Just like I’m doing now.

If all you see is dark and dreary, that is all you wish to see. Look beyond what you see clearly, and see the light that shines beneath. @keithoughts

Return to DBMH Website

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

One response to “Magnify the Good”

Leave a Reply

