The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly… what happened to the Good?

If you have been reading this blog, you know that its about understanding your relationship with your father. One thing the blog has yet to do is acknowledge all the good that our fathers have brought into our lives.

My dad is awesome. I will be the first to say that he has a ton of flaws but at  the same time I understand that is not what defines him. I pray that my friends and family do not judge me according to my mistakes but who i am holistically. I will say this now; a man is not defined by his mistakes but whether he learned from them.

I know this is a lot to take in and understand where I am going. Essentially, i want each reader to understand that most people are not all bad. All fathers have made mistakes and will continue to do so. many times we allows their mistakes to mask all the good that they have bestowed upon us their children. For example, if my father smacked me around growing up, I probably will not remember him teaching me discipline and hard work.

Humans tend to dwell on negative aspects but i want to look at the positive ones too. Look back at your life and try to recognize the good things that your father instilled in your life. Did he encourage you to work hard, do your best or never give up? It is important to be able to identify these factors as they also play a role in who you were, are, and will become.

Its easy to look at a glass half empty or even 9/10 empty but if we fail to recognize  all the contents or what we do have, we fail to be grateful and we miss part of the picture that has created our identity.

Return to DBMH Website

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Caleb Fairey

A man who desires the joys of freedom for everyone.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Magnify the Good « Daddy Broke My Heart - October 12, 2012

Leave a Reply

