What does it mean to forgive?

What does it mean to forgive?
In a world with so much hurt and pain
I would be a fool to forget
He is guilty and deserves to be punished
He was supposed to protect me
He was supposed to care about me
But all I’ve see all my life is his back
Forgive him? For what?
He practically  put the knife in my back
The pain sears sharp at the very thought of him
The blood pours and drips as a reminder to never get close to him again
And I have to forgive him? What does that mean?
When he sees me, he watches me bleed
And I’m to forgive him? That is as hard as it seems.
I cannot. How can I? What would it change?
I will not be walked on — I’d rather be estranged
What good is there in it? In forgiving?
Until I see, these walls will stand
Protecting me
My attitude was fixed. My walls would not fall.
Until there came a man, one I loved with all my heart.
The same man, I tore to pieces with the weapons of my defense.
The manipulation consumed me and controlled my every action
I could see myself clearly, tugging on his heart strings
Wrapped in a web of good intentions
Wounding and hurting him just as my dad did to me
Different but not so much
The pain inflicted on me is spreading like a disease
I try my hardest and still there is no peace
Now I need him to forgive me
Good intent, bad intent
The hurt remains the same
I won’t be like my dad
I will not hurt the ones I love
And am I really hurting me by not forgiving?
Only one way to see
Take a leap!
Not for him, for me.
Tags: , , , ,

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Love, Anger, and Forgiveness « Daddy Broke My Heart - November 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

